Show me the evidence

Normally, I would side with someone at USA TODAY over Jay Rosen. No disrespect to Rosen, but I’ve disagreed with him on occasion, and USA TODAY is still a special place to me.

But Rosen’s absolutely right here in arguing with a USA TODAY editor (someone I don’t know) about how they reported a story that’s just an allegation with no shred of evidence: Evidence-based vs. accusation-driven reporting (with tweets) · jayrosen_nyu · Storify

The good news: This approach may already be changing. I saw a couple of headlines (NYT, CBS) responding to Trump’s “I would’ve won if millions of people hadn’t voted illegally” Tweet with a headline “Citing no evidence …”

That’s how it’s going to have to be from here on. And probably should’ve been since the days of McCarthy.

This entry was posted in journalism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

